DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Wheel of time tv series

Cairos

Surely simply making a pilot won't stop the rights reverting to the Jordan estate?

I think that Red Eagle seems to have unfortunately fulfilled their legal requirements to extend the rights. They obviously did what they thought of as the absolute minimum for keeping them. But the example that everyone seems to be comparing this to is the '94 version of the Fantastic Four... never screened, never aired on TV, and all parties involved did their best to make sure it never saw the light of day. But the mere fact that it was produced was enough to keep the rights there. What I'm wondering was, just how much legal precedent was set there? I'm not a lawyer, but IIRC there was no court case involved, and without any legal ruling by a judge, can there really be a precedent?

Surely simply making a pilot won't stop the rights reverting to the Jordan estate?

I think that Red Eagle seems to have unfortunately fulfilled their legal requirements to extend the rights. They obviously did what they thought of as the absolute minimum for keeping them. But the example that everyone seems to be comparing this to is the '94 version of the Fantastic Four... never screened, never aired on TV, and all parties involved did their best to make sure it never saw the light of day. But the mere fact that it was produced was enough to keep the rights there. What I'm wondering was, just how much legal precedent was set there? I'm not a lawyer, but IIRC there was no court case involved, and without any legal ruling by a judge, can there really be a precedent?

Basel, they could have violated the contract in some way. Harriet mentioned some things in her statement. I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

it suxed!