DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Protagonists Constant Whining

Lyanna Tears

I'm new to The Wheel of Time series. Fell in love with epic fantasy since reading A Song of Ice and Fire. My biggest complaint is the main male characters constant whining about their fate and how didn't want it or ask for it. I'm only on book 2 The Great Hunt. It's off putting. I'm use to way more horrible things happening to characters in ASOIAF with no woe-that is me mentality. Will Rand, Mat and Perrin continue their self-pity whining for the rest books?

If I look back, I'm lost...

Somebody was criticizing Rand's attitude in the first few books in another thread. Honestly, these 3 boys WEREN'T boys looking for adventure. They were pretty happy in Two Rivers. Yeah sure, they had "dreams" of seeing the world, but that's like a normal person today dreaming of being a movie star. When taken out of their home and threatened constantly by monsters and whatnot... they are freaked out. And they'll whine. They won't be like: "F**k yeah! Trollocs and shit!". 

At the end of the day, they are taveren and they get shit done. Rand and Perrin despite the fact they were afraid and anxious STILL managed to fight off Whitecloaks, Trollocs, Fades and whatnot. Especially Rand. Handling business like the effin boss of Saidin, despite his crappy attitude and that is THE MOST important thing. I have no problem with characters feeling sorry for themselves as long as that's not all they do. Mat for instance, I had a real problem with his attitude while he was under the dagger's influence. Just because it seemed unfair to me that Rand had to carry his worthless ass around and take care of him, while still dealing with his own issues. Thankfully Mat improved significantly in the third book.

Hah! That's the best response to that particular criticism I've seen. Excellent stuff.