DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Mat's memories

Drewcif

I'm new to DM and am almost finished with the series.  Less than 100 pages left in MoL.  I feel like there a few things missing that I haven't gotten answers to yet.  Where did Mat's memories come from?  Any person in particular?  Is Perrin supposed to be a mythical reincarnation like Rand?  What is the significance of the Red Eagle of Manatheren?  The story kind of leads to unanswered clues but after reviewing the books, no answers.

• Replies 108
  • Created
  • Last Reply

page numbers are vague; each format has a different number of them than the others.

I have not yet read Memory of Light; only skimmed through various parts of it.

Mat's memories came from multiple men.  They went through either or both doorways and/or went through the Tower of Ghenjei; and the memories were from the time of exiting.

Mat had thoughts about those things in Knife of Dreams.  Do not remember which chapter.

Perrin; are you asking whether he is the reborn of someone or asking if he is similar to a mythological character?  if reborn of someone, I do not recall anywhere telling.  if similarity with a mythological character, a number of readers see similarities with Thor; and for Mat, Odin.

There were past threads about those.

significance of the Red Eagle; do not recall a thread about that.  not sure if the author intended a significance or not.

the significance (if any) could be different with different readers.

Mat got the memories from going through the doorway in Rhudiean.  He wanted the holes filled and they were filled with the memories of other men.  By making the bargain they formed some sort of link with Mat, as he was sure they could see everything he could see.  I am guessing since how else would they get a hold of these memories, is they were from people who had visited the tower themselves.  Was never really explained how they were able to get a hold of the memories to stuff into mat.