DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Shakespeare Week - Your Favorite Play?

Razen

Hello all, and welcome to Shakespeare week! Here's where we will discuss what your favorite Shakespeare plays are and why they are your favorites. So with much ado, we shall begin. *hides the CliffNotes behind his back*

As more questions get added, I will add them to this first post. Feel free to jump in at any time!

The Questions:

1) What is your favorite Shakespeare play? Why?

2) Have you ever gotten the chance to act in/create props for/help out in any way with a rendtion of a Shakespeare play?

3) I know this is supposed to talk about your favorite plays, but are there any plays that you just went "blah" over? Ones you don't particularly care for?

I've not read or been to see many, but of the ones I have I think probably A Midsummer Night'd Dream. I studied it in my first year of uni and had to design costumes for it so it has a bit of a special place in my heart. I love the magical element to it. I would go into more detail but it's been a while since I read it, might have to watch the film tonight actually...

I am a huge fan of Shakespeare's comedies and my absolute favorite is Much Ado About Nothing. I also like A Midsummer Night's Dream as Tipps mentioned. I have seen both on stage and loved the movie version of Much Ado About Nothing with Kenneth Branagh. Mostly I love the plots and how the characters interplay with each other.

I have never part of any on stage production, but I would love to someday!

My high school put on a performance of a Midsummer Night's Dream my junior year that was very good. I was not an actor in it, but I have read it.

One of my favorites is the comedy Twelfth Night. The love triangle that develops between Olivia, Viola, and Orsino is quite hilarious, as is the imprisonment of poor Malvolio.