DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Work? School? Both? What do you do during the week?

Ryrin

I am a social worker with a mental health background. Currently I am managing a caseload of developmentally disabled (mostly young) people, many of whom have a diagnosis of mental illness as well. The rest are autistic. I also am liaison to several of our homes, most are for severe behavioral/mental health issues, one for individuals with medical needs who require nursing care.

What are you doing?

I stay home with my kids. I was gonna say I do neither but you're right, staying home with them is a job! It pays worse than a teacher (which is pretty bad when you figure out the hourly pay for a teacher) and it has longer hours.

But I do love it. <.< most of the time..

No, I do love it, and I know it won't be forever so I'm enjoying it while I can. I had my first while I was doing college but between the fact that I hated my course and I had a lot of stress in the pregnancy I didn't finish the course. The doctor all but said its the baby or the course <.< so baby it was.

Now with the oldest in school and the youngest with one more year till he's in school I'm starting to look into what I want to do then. If we can find the money for it I'd like to take a pharmacy technician course. To go for a full out Pharmacist course it would mean moving out of province and going to uni for years and years, which I can't do, but this other course is a one year course that would get me into that world which I would love.

But for now, I spend my day's cleaning, cooking and potty training and trying to find a way to love it all. Its pretty easy when they smile at me though :)

I stay home with my kids. I was gonna say I do neither but you're right, staying home with them is a job! It pays worse than a teacher (which is pretty bad when you figure out the hourly pay for a teacher) and it has longer hours.

But I do love it. <.< most of the time..