DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

tell your story

muddasssir

Ok people since I got a talking to from Luckers, I am really scared and hence decided to start rather innocuous thread. How did any of you started reading WOT and how did you DM? Well I'll start with my story. I live in Lahore, Pakistan. I guess you would have heard lots of great stories about my country and our religion and you will be rolling your eyes and everything. All that has nothing to do with WOT or how I got addicted to it, so lets skip it. I graduated from my university in Sep 1995. In those days I used to be addicted to books. Before that fateful day I had never read fantasy. This genre always made me think of Arabian nights with genies,flying carpetsand fantastic magic. To be completely honest I could never quite stomach it and therefore I did not read fantasy. Another reason was that you could not find remaining books in the series so I usually avoided reading books in series. On one of my wanderings through the bookstores in Lahore I came across Wot books. They were the orbit paperback versions it used to have this line from Fred Saberhagen "Solid than steel bade and glowing with true magic". This of course turned me off and I ignored the books. Each time i went to that shop I would see those books lying there on the shelf One day I could not find any book worthy of reading an I decided to pick the WOT series. Interesting thing is that he did not have book one and two , so the titles available were BK 3 the dragon reborn, 4 the shadow rising , 5 the fires of heaven and 6 lord of chaos.I thought " what if I miss the first two books in the series I'll get to read the conclusion.