DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

Probably a beginner's question (about how the cyclical timeline works)

Hi, I'm relatively new to the series. So far I'm a third of the way through book 3 and one thing's really intrigued and confused me while reading. I remember Ba'Alzamon telling Rand that the two of them have fought countless times, and each time Ba'Alzamon has won. Does that mean that there were other iterations of the Dragon before Rand and Lews Therin, or is Ba'Alzamon lying?

Hi, I'm relatively new to the series. So far I'm a third of the way through book 3 and one thing's really intrigued and confused me while reading. I remember Ba'Alzamon telling Rand that the two of them have fought countless times, and each time Ba'Alzamon has won. Does that mean that there were other iterations of the Dragon before Rand and Lews Therin, or is Ba'Alzamon lying?

Welcome to the board.

As for your question the answer is yes. The wheel has turned countless times, and as you read at the beginning of each book, there are neither beginnings nor endings. The Dragon has been spun out countless times and has fought the DO countless time. Ba'alzamon was telling the truth, at least as far as them having fought countless times.

They've been going at it since the beginning of time, that much is true. Anything else needs to be taken with a pinch of salt, though, because if the Dark One won totally the Pattern would not exist in it's current form - he does want to destroy it, after all.

Although if you start going into some of the more imaginative theories on here...:myrddraal:

Also, try to remember that this has been going on forever. While trying not to be spoilery, it helps to explain some people's motivations a bit later on.

EDIT: bugger, ninja'd :madmyrddraal: