DRAGONMOUNT

A WHEEL OF TIME COMMUNITY

As a Hillfood, I'm obligated to share this.

Hillfood

So, I really hope I don't get the boot for this, but I'm hyper and just finished dinner, and remembered a funny story that simply must be shared.

I'm a Soldier in Afghanistan (this is relevant), Communications being my job field, and most of our equipment runs off of our own generators. Now, these generators can run our stuff for upwards of maybe 18 hours before they actually need fuel, but we do it every 12 when we change shifts just to be on the safe side. I'm on shift during the daytime, so we don't refuel until well after the sun has gone down. Now, I've got arguably the best night vision on our team, but during the part of the month where the moon is covered even I have trouble seeing, and so we use chem-lights (a more common name is glow-stick) to allow us to see what we're doing. Can't use flashlights where I'm at for tactical reasons, simply put. When we refuel, we can't simply pull up to a pump; we have to use 5-gallon fuel cans, and as we don't have an unlimited supply of cans, when we get down to only having enough full cans for one refuel we lug all the empty ones over to the fuel point and fill them up. Usually we do this during the daytime, so that we can see, but sometimes we forget or get misinformation from our nighttime counterparts, and so every once in awhile we have to fill the cans at night before we can fill the generators.

Now, all of that information was simply to set the stage for my story, because the story itself is actually rather short.